Mexico Memories Lasso Your Thoughts

The great thing about having an overactive imagination is all the added creativity and spice it adds to life.  The terrible thing about having an overactive imagination is all the added worry and stress crazy thoughts can produce.

For example, I do not enjoy riding rollercoasters and hardly ever do so.  While others are screaming and enjoying the adrenaline rush, I am busy imagining myself falling and picturing my bruised and bloodied body lying on the ground below.  Kind of takes all the fun out of the experience!

Years ago in Mexico my overactive imagination kicked into full gear every time Jacinto was late getting home from anywhere.  There were no cell phones back then to send a text that he would be home later than planned.  I did not worry too much if he was a few minutes late, but after 30 minutes or more my worry antennae would be on full alert.

I knew that the road he traveled back and forth on to visit our village church was very dangerous.  The highway was very narrow, very dark and often used by drunk drivers.  As more time would pass, my eyes would become glued to the clock.  “Where is he?” I would wonder nervously.  “Why isn’t he home yet?”

I would start to imagine that he had been in a car accident.  I could picture so clearly his broken body thrown out of the car by the side of the road.  Would anybody stop to help him or would he suffer alone?  More time would pass, and I would start to plan his funeral!  Then I would fret, “How am I going to take care of all our little J’s by myself?  Should I stay in Mexico or move back home and live with my parents?  What job could I get to support us?”

About the time I started imagining our destitute children growing up without a daddy, Jacinto would walk in tiredly through the door.  Usually he was late because he had had an unexpected opportunity to share the gospel with some needy soul.  All my crazy worrying once again for naught!

Finally I decided that I could not continue with all my crazy thoughts every time he was late.  I made a decision to trust the Lord and choose not to let my imagination run wild.  No, I did not do this perfectly and still do not till this day, but when I catch myself worrying and imagining things that have not yet come to pass, I try to stop and recommit myself to trust in the Lord with all my heart.

It’s a decision and a determination not to let your thoughts run wild.  “Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and brining into CAPTIVITY EVERY THOUGHT to the obedience of Christ.”  2 Corinthians 10:5

Leave a Reply

