Mexico Memories–Now That’s Romantic

Back in the day, over 25 years ago, it took a lot of effort to communicate with my fiance.  There was no such thing as constant texting or  emails.  We did not usually talk on the phone because the school Jacinto attended had very strict rules.  We relied on the somewhat unreliable mail delivery.

I was living and working with a missionary family in Monterrey, Mexico, while Jacinto was on the other side of Mexico in Hermosillo studying in a Bible institute.  We did not receive mail at the house where I lived so to get letters I had to hop a bus for an hour ride to go downtown to the post office.

On that hour ride downtown, my anticipation would build up higher and higher the closer I got to the post office.  I would hurry into the building, slide my key into the small door, and hope and hope there would be a letter on the other side!  When the box was empty, the ride home was long and sorrowful.

On the days when the box had a letter, how do you think I reacted?  Do you think I nonchalantly stuffed the letter into my bag to read later at my leisure?  No way Jose!  I would open the letter right there in the post office and quickly read its contents.  I would continue reading the letter as I walked back to the bus stop.  All the way home I would read the letter over and over.  By the time I would get home, I would practically have the letter memorized because it was a love letter to me from my beloved!  I submit to you that letters were far more romantic than any text message today!

I have often told this story in Sunday school and tell my students that God has left us a love letter in His Word the Bible!  We ought to love it, long for it, and look forward to reading it just like I looked forward to getting letters from my boyfriend.  We ought to read it so much that we actually memorize verses without trying to!  We ought to read every word of God’s Word just like I would read every word of my love letters.

“O how love I thy law! it is my meditation all the day.”  Psalm 119:97

Leave a Reply

