Musing on Moses–Part 3 Nobody’s Gonna Listen Anyway

The Sunday school classroom of Iglesia Bautista Emanuel erupted into giggles as I stared helplessly at the three and four-year-olds.  I was visiting the church while a language student at Rio Grande Bible Institute. The teacher had left me in charge for a few minutes while she went to get drinks for the children.  I decided to try out my Spanish skills and lead the children in a song.  However, when I opened my mouth and asked the kids to sing, instead of singing they all began to giggle and kept on giggling!  Every time I tried to say something new, they just giggled all the louder! “Oh my!” I thought discouraged.  “How is God going to use me on the mission field if even the children laugh at what I try to say?”

My mind flashed to another trip to the border when I had gone into a store and tried to order a soda.  When I ask for naranjo  the storekeeper did not understand me.  “How am I going to succeed as a missionary if the people can’t even understand me when I say orange?!!” I wondered.

Moses seemed to have the same concern when God called him to lead Israel.  “And Moses answered and said, But, behold, they will not believe me, nor harken unto my voice: for they will say, The Lord hath not appeared unto thee.”  Exodus 4:1

I just love the fact that every time Moses offered up reasons as to why he was not qualified to be a leader, God always took the focus off of Moses and put the focus back on God’s omnipotence.  God asked Moses what was in his hand and proceeded to show him how God could use and transform what Moses already had to show God’s power and might.

I remember hearing Bill Harvey singing this chorus at Sword of the Lord conferences when I was a little girl:

Little is much when God is in it!

Labor not for wealth and fame.

There’s a crown and you can win it

If you go in Jesus’ name!

What’s in your hand today?  Whatever it is, God can use to proclaim His power.  When we realize how unqualified and unworthy we are, God gets all the glory when he uses us!

 

 

Leave a Reply

