Jehovah-Jireh The Lord will provide with a sense of humor!

We were tight on the money.  Nothing new there.  Same old same old.  After years of being tight on the money but always seeing the Lord provide in many different and often creative ways, you would think I would never doubt His provision ever again the rest of my life!  You would think that–but it ain’t always so!

One day a few years ago I eagerly awaited the arrival of the mailman hoping we might receive an unexpected love offering.  I reminded the Lord (in case He had forgotten) that we had a lot of bills to pay and really needed some financial aid.

Finally I heard the mailman on our porch.  I hurried out and reminded the Lord one last time that we REALLY needed some money!  Our mailbox is on the wall over my head so I could not see what was in it.  I put my hand in and drew out a stack of letters.  Eagerly I shuffled through them.  To my dismay, instead of receiving a love offering, we had received even more bills!

I looked up to heaven and grumbled, “Lord, I said we needed more MONEY not more BILLS.  We already have plenty of those!”  I put my hand back into the mailbox just in case I had overlooked any letters.  I pulled out an envelope. Inside was a nice love offering!  I looked up to heaven again with tears in my eyes and whispered, “I’m sorry, Lord.  I know you always provide.  You always have and you always will!”

Philippians 4:19, “But my God shall supply ALL your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

