Yet Trouble Came

This is the excerpt for your very first post.

Job is my hero!  He had all kinds of trouble without deserving any of it and yet his first response was to accept it from the Lord and sin not with his lips!  Wow!  Would that I always reacted to trouble in my life with the same awesome attitude.

Job 3:26 is my chosen verse for 2017:  “I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; YET TROUBLE CAME.”  Job was busy living his life and serving the Lord and even so trouble came into his life.

I don’t know about you, but I am tired of trouble!  Sometimes I feel like I have had more than “my fair share” whatever that means.  What is a “fair share” of trouble anyway?  haha  It’s not that I wish my troubles off of me and onto others; I wish no troubles for any one!  Wouldn’t that be lovely?

Here’s a verse I have never been successful at obeying:  “Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you.”  I Peter 4:12  I ALWAYS think it is strange!  If I could prevent it, my children would never suffer–not even one mosquito bite!  God CAN prevent it–all our pain and suffering and sorrow–yet He chooses not to.

I know God never wastes our pain.  I can look back on extremely hard, painful times in my life and see how God has used those times for His glory.  However, that does not mean that I desire more suffering, nor am I going looking for it!

When I was growing up in a great Christian home, attending a wonderful church and Christian school, I thought that if I served Jesus, I would escape most trouble and problems in life!  WRONG!  I cannot think of any person in the Bible who escaped some form of trouble or trials in their life.

We can look at our problems and heartaches–situations and challenges that pose no easy solutions–and sink into despair and “oh poor me” pity parties.  Or we can choose to focus on the goodness of our  loving Heavenly Father.  The choice is mine. The choice is yours.

I don’t know what troubles you are dealing with today.  Some troubles we bring on ourselves by our own sin or foolish decisions.  Some troubles others bring on us by their own sin or foolish decisions.  Some troubles we don’t even know where they came from, but there they are and we struggle through them!

Let us choose to focus on God’s goodness and say with Jehoshaphat, “…for we have no might…neither know we what to do:  but our eyes are upon thee.”  2 Chronicles 20:12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

